Enjoying Art You Don’t Understand

I cannot even begin to count the number of times I’ve had friends and acquaintances question me about Art, using phrases like “what does that mean?” “what is that supposed to be?” and probably most often “I just don’t get it”. This generally corresponds to some ancient, abstract or avant garde piece of Art they saw on a school trip to a museum. Becoming frustrated by some Greek urn or a piece of string hanging from the ceiling, they simply throw up their hands in defeat, determining that this must mean that they just don’t like Art and therefore have no need of things like museums and galleries. And really, they think to themselves, what does it matter? It’s not like I’m missing out on anything.

As for me, I’ve always loved Art. It doesn’t much matter what kind or what era. I can spend hours wandering through museums. When faced with these kinds of comments from friends that are less artistically inclined, I have one response. Does it really matter?

Don’t get me wrong, fellow Art lovers, the more information you have about a piece of Art and the artist that made it, the more you can learn from it. But learning about Art is not a prerequisite for enjoying it.

Think of it this way. Looking at a piece of Art is like having a conversation. You may have an argument with it. You may find that you have loads in common. You may be bored to tears. Don’t feel like you need to rationalize any of the things you feel about it. Just feel them. Like it or don’t. Don’t worry so much about what it means, just determine what it means to you and be done with it.

There doesn’t need to be so much pressure surrounding this Art culture. Take the museums back from the snobs and the academics. Take a piece for yourself and own it.

(Image contains Neuron by Roxie Paine and Scarlatti by Mark di Suvero, both on display at Frederick Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park in Grand Rapids, Michigan.)

Leave a comment